top of page
Writer's pictureCromwell Witch

Movie Review: Killer Sofa (2019)

Before I get into the review, I want to say hi again! The world has spiraled and is still spiraling since my last published post, but I'm still here writing away in my old school notebook. I've been very vocal over on my Instagram page as that is where I have the largest audience to speak to. I've been unsure of how or whether to resume our usual Halloween content. It feels as though we're ignoring the momentous occurrences taking place in our world right now by moving on with our routines. But what we need to do is incorporate these fights and these practices into our daily routine. Enacting real change and ensuring black lives matter to ALL is going to take time. This is not a sprint it is a marathon and we are in this for the long haul. Which is a very long way of saying I will be posting regular content again, but we are still fighting the good fight.



Killer Sofa (2019) 💀💀

Directed By: Bernardo Rao


You might want to think twice about curling up on the couch to enjoy some horror flicks. This New Zealand based B movie highlights just how dangerous your new living room set can be. In the same vein as Rubber and Killer Donuts, Killer Sofa imbues familiar objects with a murderous blood lust. Oh, but make no mistake this is no ordinary homicidal houseware. This chair is possessed by an ancient entity who is obsessed with a young woman played by Piimio Mei who is the perfect host for his ancient entity girlfriend?


As a lover of all things camp, I was elated by the premise of a recliner bent on mass murder. The cheesier the movie, the more it warms my cold, dead heart. However, the film failed to live up to its true trash potential. While the spring-loaded kills were hilarious to watch, the movie took itself too seriously for what it was. When it comes to the genre of campy B-movies there is a fine line between true cheese ball delight and a bad movie. The acting was nothing to write home about, but not nearly the worsts I've encountered in my film travels. As usual, the highlight of the cast was the barmy old man who knows about the ancient being long before the protagonists. Played by Hamish Boyle, the classic crazy old man archetype was a hilarious and fun character who stood out as the high point of the film.


Overall Killer Sofa was underwhelming, an impressive feat in and of itself considering it's a movie called Killer Sofa. I give it 2 skulls, purely on premise and the delightfully dramatic shots of the recliner. Save yourself some time and watch the trailer for some killshots then move onto some true camp like Velocipastor.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page