top of page
Writer's pictureCromwell Witch

The Nightmare of No Frightmare

Today is the day. The day that I've been looking forward to for an entire year. The day that I get to head down for my favorite Halloween & Horror family reunion, Texas Frightmare Weekend. Only today, instead of loading up my car with obscene amounts of snack foods and adult beverages, I'm at home watching vlogs from Frightmares past.


Whilst in a global pandemic, the most responsible thing to do is social distance which is exceptionally hard to do in an overcrowded convention hall. Consequently, Texas Frightmare Weekend 2020 has been postponed.


I completely understand and agree with the convention's decision to postpone the event. It was the safe and responsible thing to do. But that doesn't mean I'm thrilled. Truth be told TFW is one of the few things I truly look forward to each year. It's what gets me through the impending summer months. Despite the fact that my heart will always lie with Halloween more than Horror per say, the event highlights something more important than either genre, friendship.


I have always been told that the Horror Community is one of the nicest and friendliest communities out there and after all these years I have to say that is 100% true. There are no strangers at TFW. You can sit down next to anyone and start chatting about anything and they will pick up right along with you. Stuck in line to meet one of your fave horror stars? Boom now you're besties with your line buddies. It truly is a magical space.


But even more exciting that making new buds is the chance TFW gives of connecting with your internet friends in person. I have been so fortunate over the years to connect with amazing creators and fans of all things spooky given the magical power of the interwebs. But without TFW I would never have met so many of them! Spending the weekend at the DFW Hyatt means getting to see all of your favorite Halloween & Horror peeps!


The reason that this postponement has gotten to me so much I think is that it means I won't be able to see my favorite people. I'm supposed to make it all the way to September without one of Joseph Canales' world famous hugs? without old lady sleepover times with Naked Eye Studio and Amy's Autopsy Report? without belting out MCR with Kensie Perry at Scary-oke (which for some reason I was pretty sure would happen this year)? It's just too much to bear!


So while I'm obviously disappointed I won't be hanging out with my man Danny Trejo this weekend, I am devastated that I won't be seeing all of my friends. In this time of isolation I miss y'all more than ever. I hope we can all get together in September, but who knows what the future holds. Just know I will be here reliving the Frightmares gone by and probably stalking all y'all on Instagram.


Happy Trick or Treating!


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page